Self-publishing writing schedule and commas

This year, I am aiming to write for half an hour every day. With work and family to look after, it’s extremely difficult to fit in time to write, but I think scheduling it into your routine makes you at least think about it. Today was a bonus, because my half an hour turned into two hours, and I felt very smug by the end of it. This evening, I also spent some time reading up on commas, yet again. Have you noticed that even though there are “rules” for commas, well-known authors don’t seem to abide by them? This makes life very difficult for us “would-bes”, but the advice seems to be unanimous: stick to the rules. This is very unfair as sometimes you feel like sticking it to the rules! I still find myself taking out commas, replacing them, taking them out … you get the drift! (Yes, I know I could take them out  and add them to this paragraph too!)

If you have been following my blog, you may be wondering what I am writing about. Is it the re-write of The Book of Thoth? Unfortunately not; it will be February/March time before I underdo that task, and it’s not down to procrastination! Now, time for the fanfare – I have started writing the second book!! End of fanfare. Yes, I have the second book more or less plotted in my head, and hope to finish writing it by the end of the year. Needless to say, it will be put on hold whilst I rewrite the first. All I can be sure of, is that this year involves a lot of writing, and I believe that’s what any would-be author should be aiming for 🙂

Leave a Reply

